West Australian Young Readers' Book Award

Reading Lists, Past Winners, Newsletters, Merchandise

Younger Readers

2015 The 52-Storey Treehouse Andy Griffiths

2014 The 39-Storey Treehouse Andy Griffiths

2013  Wonder  R.J. Palacio

2012 The 13-Storey Treehouse  Andy Griffiths

2011 The Ugly Truth Jeff Kinney

2010 Mascot Madness! Andy Griffiths

2009 Diary of  Wimpy Kid Jeff Kinney

2008 Just Shocking/Andy Griffiths

2007 They came on Viking Ships/Jackie French

2006 Garden of the Purple Dragon/Carole Wilkinson

2005 Specky Magee and the Season of Champions/Felice Arena & Garry Lyon

2004 Specky Magee & the Great Footy Contest/Felice Arena & Garry Lyon

2003 Selby Stardom/Duncan Ball

2002 The Forests of Silence/ Emily Rodda

2001 Harry Potter & the Goblet of Fire/J K Rowling

2000 Harry Potter & the Philosopher’s Stone/ J K Rowling

1999 The Quicksand Pony/Alison Lester

1998 Lily and Me/Moses Aaron

1997 Selby Supersnoop/Duncan Ball

1996 The Topsy Turvy Storybook/Dick King-Smith

1995 Undone! More Mad Endings/Paul Jennings

1994 Unbearable/Paul Jennings

1993 Snotty Bumstead/Hunter Davies

1992 Uncanny!/Paul Jennings

1991 Selby Screams/Duncan Ball

1990 Selby Speaks/Duncan Ball

1989 Matilda/Roald Dahl

1988 Grandma Cadbury’s Trucking Tales/ Dianne Bates

1987 Selby’s Secrets/Duncan Ball

1986 The Witches/Roald Dahl

1985 The BFG/Roald Dahl

1984 George’s Marvellous Medicine/Roald Dahl

1983 Samantha On Stage/Susan Clement Farrar

1982 Superfudge/Judy Blume

1981 Sadako & the Thousand Paper Cranes/Eleanor Coerr

1980 Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing/Judy Blume