West Australian Young Readers' Book Award

Reading Lists, Past Winners, Newsletters, Merchandise

Older Readers

2015 The Maze Runner (Maze Runner, Book1) by James Dashner

2014 The House of Hades (Heroes of Olympus) Rick Riordan

2013 Fault In Our Stars by John Green

2012 I Am Number Four  Pittacus Lore

2011 The Lost Hero (Heroes of Olympus) Rick Riordan

2010 The Hunger Games Suzanne Collins

2009 Terrier /Tamora Pierce

2008 Twilight/Stephanie Meyer

2007 Seven Ancient Wonders/Matthew Reilly

2006 Eldest/Christopher Paolini

2005 A Child Called It/Dave Pelzer

2004 Saving Francesca/Melina Marchetta

2003 Lirael : Daughter of the Clayr/Garth Nix

2002 The Amber Spyglass/Philip Pullman

2001 Holes/Louis Sachar

2000 The Night is for Hunting/John Marsden

1999 Burning for Revenge/John Marsden

1998 The Third Day, the Frost/John Marsden

1997 Salamandastron/Brian Jacques

1996 The Power of One/Bryce Courteney

1995 Tomorrow when the War Began/John Marsden

1994 Looking for Alibrandi/Melina Marchetta

1993 Del Del/Victor Kelleher

1992 Mattimeo/Brian Jacques

1991 Mossflower/Brian Jacques

1990 Redwall/Brian Jacques

1989 When the Phone Rang/Harry Mazer

1988 Dead Birds Singing/Marc Talbert

1987 The Eyes of Karen Connors/Lois Duncan

1987 Back Home/Michelle Magorian

1986 The Growing Pains of Adrian Mole/Sue Townsend

1985 The Secret Life of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 3/4/Sue Townsend

1984 Did You Hear What Happened to Andrea?/Gloria Miklowtz

1983 Goodnight Mr Tom/Michelle Magorian

1982 Forbidden Paths of Thual/Victor Kelleher

1981 Don’t Hurt Laurie/Willo Davis Roberts

1980 My Darling Villains/Lynne Reid Banks