West Australian Young Readers' Book Award

Reading Lists, Past Winners, Newsletters, Merchandise

Vale Leila Hoffman

Leave a comment

Leila Hoffman (OAM)


Leila worked as a teacher-librarian or librarian (1974 to 1986).

Leila was the founder of the WA Young Readers’ Book Award. She established a working committee and steered the development for the implementation of the WA Young Readers’ Award (1980).

This is an award where young readers rather than adults nominate and vote on a list of books. It encourages young readers to read books and reward authors. The award is still in operation, almost 30 years later.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s