West Australian Young Readers' Book Award

Reading Lists, Past Winners, Newsletters, Merchandise

Leave a comment

WAYRBA for Beginners

WAYRBA for beginners screenshot

Download our free Beginners Guide to WAYRBA poster.

This children’s choice award is a great way to promote reading and is easy to run.

Beginner’s Guide to WAYRBA


Leave a comment

WAYRBA Free Printable Posters

Here are some free posters for your library with step-by-step instructions on how to vote and nominate books. Both come in the Bubbles or Bunting designs. Your feedback is welcome.

WAYRBA How to Vote bunting

WAYRBA How to Vote bubbles

WAYRBA How to Nominate Bunting

WAYRBA How to Nominate Bubbles

Leave a comment

2019 Shortlists

Picture Books Shortlist 2019

A Bag and a Bird by Pamela ALLEN

Message in a Sock by Kaye BAILLIE illustrated by Narelda JOY *

Pig the Star by Aaron BLABEY *

The Very Sleepy Bear by Nick BLAND *

This Book is Out of Control! by Richard BYRNE

The Day War Came by Nicola DAVIES illustrated by Rebecca COBB

Was Not Me! by Shannon HORSFALL *

A is for Australian Animals by Frané LESSAC *

After the Fall: How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again by Dan SANTAT

Cicada by Shaun TAN *

Room on Our Rock by Kate TEMPLE; Jol TEMPLE; Terri Rose BAYNTON *

The Sloth Who Came to Stay by Margaret WILD; Vivienne TO *

*Australian Author

Screen Shot 2019-02-15 at 8.44.15 pm

Picture Books Shortlist 2019

Younger Readers’ Shortlist 2019

Book Scavenger by Jennifer Chambliss BERTMAN

To the Lighthouse by Cristy BURNE *

The Missing Ace (Mysterious World of Cosentino #1) by Jack HEATH and illustrated by James HART *

Ninja Kid by Anh Do *

Dungzilla by James FOLEY *

104-Storey Treehouse by Andy GRIFFITHS; Terry DENTON *

Kid Normal (Kid Normal #1) by Greg JAMES; Chris SMITH

Clockwork War by Adam KLINE; Dan WHISKER

The Getaway (Diary of a Wimpy Kid #12) by Jeff KINNEY

The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone by Jaclyn MORIARTY and illustrated by Kelly CANBY *

Lintang and the Pirate Queen (Lintang #1) by Tamara MOSS *

Camp Castaway (Pippa’s Island #4) by Belinda MURRELL *

Quark’s Academy by Catherine PELOSI *

Amal Unbound by Aisha SAEED

Never Fear (Friday Barnes #8) by R.A. SPRATT *

Nevermoor: The Trials of Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor #1) by Jessica TOWNSEND *

Bad Dad by David Walliams

The 1000-year-old-boy by Ross WELFORD

The Adventurer’s Guide to Successful Escapes by Wade Albert WHITE

*Australian Author

Screen Shot 2019-02-15 at 8.50.34 pm

Younger Readers Shortlist 2019

Older Readers’ Shortlist 2019

Skyfire (Seven Signs #1) by Michael ADAMS *

Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria AVEYARD

The Fall by Tristan BANKS *

S.T.A.G.S. by M.A. Bennett

In The Dark Spaces by Cally BLACK *

Someone to Love by Melissa DE LA CRUZ

Maybe (The Felix series #6) by Morris GLEITZMAN *

The Truth App (Liars #1) by Jack HEATH *

Lifel1k3 by Jay KRISTOFF *

Renegades (Renegades #1) by Marissa MEYER

Whisper by Lynette NONI *

Carve the Mark (Carve the Mark duology #1) by Veronica ROTH

Scythe (Arc of Scythe #1) by Neal SHUSTERMAN

Forever Geek (Geek Girl #6) by Holly SMALE

Horizon: Survival Is No Game (Horizon #1) by Scott WESTERFELD

*Australian Author

Screen Shot 2019-02-15 at 8.56.27 pm

Older Readers Shortlist

Leave a comment

Shortlists with Links

Here are the Shortlists with links to Publishers, authors, teachers’ notes and book trailers.

Picture Book Shortlist with Links

Torty and the Soldier: A Story of a True WWI Survivor by Jennifer BECK & Fifi COLTSON Teachers’ notes

Even Superheroes Have Bad Days by Shelly BECKER & Eda KABAN Teachers’ notes

Don’t Call Me Bear! by Aaron BLABEYTeachers’ notes

New Year Surprise! by Christopher CHENG* & Di WUTeachers’ notes, Dragon Colour-in

Boy by Phil CUMMINGS* & Shane DEVRIESTeachers’ notes

Whatcha Building? by Andrew DADDO* & Stephen Michael KINGTeachers’ notes

The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors by Drew DAYWALT & Adam REX Book trailer Teachers’ notes

There’s a Big Green Frog in the Toilet by Anh DO* & Heath MCKENZIE*

The Travel Bug by Benjamin GILMOUR* & James Gulliver HANCOCK*

Chip by Kylie HOWARTH** Chip activities, Teachers’ notes

Radio Rescue! by Jane JOLLY* & Robert INGPEN*

We’re All Wonders by R J PALACIO Pinterest activities

Stepping Stones: A Refugee Family’s Journey by Margriet RUUS & Nizar Ali BADR Teachers’ notes

Spark by Adam WALLACE* & Andrew PLANTTeachers’ notes

The Afghanistan Pup by Mark WILSONTeachers’ notes

Nanna’s Button Tin by Dianne WOLFER** & Heather POTTERTeachers’ notes


Younger Reader Shortlist with links

Riddle Gully Secrets (Riddle Gully #3) by Jen BANYARD** Teachers’ notes

Intergalactic Gas (Bad Guys Episode 5) By Aaron BLABEYAaron Blabey presents The Bad Guys Episode 5

The Lost Twin (Scarlet and Ivy #1) by Sophie CLEVERLY Sophie Cleverly introduces The Lost Twin

Spooky Weird! (WeirDo #9) by Anh DO*

Turning Pointes by Emma FREEDMAN*

The 91-Storey Treehouse (Treehouse #7) by Andy GRIFFITHS*

Alice-Miranda Holds the Key (Alice-Miranda 15) by Jacqueline HARVEYBook Trailer How an Alice Miranda book is made, Teachers’ notes for series

Welcome to Willowvale (Vet Cadets #1) by Rebecca JOHNSONTeachers’ notes

Double Down (Diary of a Wimpy Kid #11) by Jeff KINNEY

Tracy Lacy is Completely Coo-Coo Bananas! (Tracy Lacy #1) by Tania LACYBook Trailer

Pax by Sara PENNYPACKER, Teachers’ notes, Book Trailer

The Other Christy by Oliver PHOMMAVANHTeachers’ notes

Epic Adventure (kind of) (Tom Gates #13) by Liz PICHON

Pepsi the Problem Puppy by Sandi PARSONS** Teachers’ notes, Colouring pages

The Shop at Hoopers Bend by Emily RODDATeachers’ notes

Darkstalker (Wings of Fire: Legends#1) by Tui T. SUTHERLAND

Sisters (Smile #2) by Raina TELGEMEIER, Book Trailer, Raina Telgemeier on Sisters

The Midnight Gang by David WALLIAMS – Activity pages, Q&A with David Walliams

Rent a Bridesmaid by Jacqueline WILSON – Book Trailer

Battle Royale (Selwood Boys #1) by Tony WILSONBook trailer


Older Readers Shortlist 2018 with links

Perfect (Flawed #2) by Cecelia AHERN – Book Trailer, The Writing Process with Cecelia

Within These Walls by Robyn BAVATITeacher’s notes

Summerlost by Ally CONDIE

Arena 13 (Arena 13 #1) by Joseph DELANEY

Living on Hope Street by Demet DIVARORENTeachers’ Notes  (link at the bottom)

Pieces of Sky by Trinity DOYLE*

The Girl Who Rode the Wind by Stacy GREGG Teachers’ notes

Catch the Zolt (The Debt #1) by Phillip GWYNNEBook Trailer

The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia HAND

One Half From the East by Nadia HASHIMI Teachers’ Notes

Ginny Moon by Benjamin LUDWIG

Benjamin Ludwig on Ginny Moon

The Novice (The Summoner #1) by Taran MATHARU Book Trailer

One of Us is Lying by Karen M. McMANUS 25 Questions with Karen McManus

All the Bright Places by Jennifer NIVEN – Book Trailer

Library of Souls (Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children #3) by Ransom RIGGS

Sunny Side Up (Geek Girl #4.5 / Geek Girl Special #2) by Holly SMALE

The Warden’s Daughter by Jerry SPINELLI Jerry Spinelli talks the Warden’s Daughter

Hunted by Meagan SPOONER Epic author facts

Trouble is a Friend of Mine (Trouble #1) by Stephanie TROMLY

Pandemic by Yvonne VENTRESCA Teachers’ notes  (scroll to the bottom)

Everything, Everything by Nicola YOON

One Would Think the Deep by Claire ZORNTeachers Notes